About Us

The Region V Public Health Training Center works to develop a competent public health workforce with capacity to address community needs and improve population health outcomes. This is done through two key areas: training public health professionals and supporting student development.

Coordinating Center

The RVPHTC is located at the University of Michigan School of Public Health and serves as the central coordinating office for the region which includes Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

Regional Collaborative

The RVPHTC works to strengthen the capacity of the region’s public health workforce by assessing training needs, responding to those needs through the development and delivery of distance-based continuing education, and engaging students from across the region in public health practice. This work is done in partnership with Community-Based Training Partners and Technical Assistance Providers.

Region V PHTC Network

Central Coordinating Office

The Region V Public Health Training Center’s central coordinating office is housed at the University of Michigan School of Public Health.

Region V Public Health Training Center Team:

Angela Beck Photo

 

 

 

 

Angela J. Beck, PhD, MPH
Director
ajbeck@umich.edu

Phoebe Goldberg

 

 

 

 

Phoebe Kulik, MPH, CHES
Director of Workforce Development
734-647-1783
gophoebe@umich.edu

Laura Power Faculty Headshot

 

 

 

 

Laura Power, MD, MPH
Clinical Assistant Professor
lejohns@umich.edu

Seth Neeley Headshot

 

 

 

 

Seth Neeley, MEd
Instructional Designer
neeleysc@umich.edu

Dany Zemmel
Project Coordinator
dzemmel@umich.edu
734-615-0144

 

 

 

Brad Bender
Training Coordinator
itsbrad@umich.edu

 

 

Jessica Kay, MPH
Marketing Coordinator
jesskay@umich.edu

Community-Based Training Partner

 

University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health

Devangna Kapadia, MS, MPH
Assistant Director
MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice
guddi@uic.edu

Community-Based Training Partner

 

Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health

Carole Kacius, PhD
Associate Dean for Education
kacius@iu.edu

Andrea Janota, MPH
Interim Director, Center for Public Health Practice & IUPUI ECHO Center
ajanota@iu.edu

Community-Based Training Partners

 

Kent County Health Department

Teresa Branson, MHA
Deputy Administrative Health Officer
teresa.branson@kentcountymi.gov

 

Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan

Patrick Shannon, JD, MPH
Chief Judge, Tribal Court
pshannon@sagchip.org

 

Saginaw County Health Department

Christina Harrington, MPH
Director, Health Officer
charrington@saginawcounty.com

Community-Based Training Partner

 

Minnesota Department of Health

Chelsie Huntley, BSN, MPA
Director
Center for Public Health Practice
chelsie.huntley@state.mn.us

Beth Gyllstrom, PhD, MPH
Senior Research Scientist
Beth.gyllstrom@state.mn.us

Ann March
Public Health Assessment Planner
ann.march@state.mn.us

Community-Based Training Partner

 

Columbus Public Health

Suellen Bennett, MSPH
Executive Officer
Center for Public Health Innovation
suellenb@columbus.gov

Makeda Porter, MSW
Deputy Executive Director
Center for Public Health Innovation
MCPorter@columbus.gov

 

The Ohio State University College of Public Health

Andy Wapner, DO, MPH, FACOP, FAAP
Director
Center for Public Health Practice
Wapner.1@osu.edu

Kelly Bragg, MPH, CHES
Program Manager
Center for Public Health Practice
bragg.99@osu.edu

Community-Based Training Partner

University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute

Paula Tran Inzeo, MPH
Director
Mobilizing Action Toward Community Health (MATCH) Group
ptran@wisc.edu

Sweta Shrestha, MPH
Program Manager
Wisconsin Population Health Service Fellowship, MATCH Group
sshrestha@wisc.edu

Victoria Faust
Action Research and Evaluator
Wisconsin Population Health Service Fellowship, MATCH Group
vnfaust@wisc.edu

JP Leider Research and Consulting

JP, Leider, PhD
Evaluation Director
Region V Public Health Training Center
leider@gmail.com

 

National Council for Behavioral Health

Chuck Ingoglia, MSW
President and CEO, Public Policy and Practice Improvement
chucki@thenationalcouncil.org

Taslim van Hattum, LCSW, MPH
Director, Practice Improvement
taslimvh@thenationalcouncil.org

Flannery Peterson, MPH, PMP
Senior Manager, Practice Improvement
flanneryp@thenationalcouncil.org

 

National Network of Public Health Institutes

Jennifer McKeever, MSW, MPH
Director, Public Health Practice and Training
jmckeever@nnphi.org

Laura Prechter, MS
Program Manager
lprechter@nnphi.org