About Us

The Region V Public Health Training Center works to develop a competent public health workforce with capacity to address community needs and improve population health outcomes. This is done through two key areas: training public health professionals and supporting student development.

Part of The Public Health Learning Network

Region V Public Health Training Center is one of ten regional training centers that falls under the Public Health Learning Network

The Public Health Learning Network

The Public Health Learning Network (PHLN) is an active consortium of public health educators, practitioners, and thought leaders and the National Coordinating Center for Public Health Training (NCCPHT).  The Public Health Learning Network works in partnership with the ten Regional Public Health Training Centers to advance public health practice and improve population health in the United States. Together, they make up the nation’s most comprehensive source of public health training and support.

 

Learn more about the HRSA Public Health Training Centers and the Public Health Learning Network.

Regional Public Health Training Centers

10 Training Centers

Ten training centers bring decades of experience to the leadership, management, scientific, and technical competencies of the public health workforce. Together with the National Coordinating Center for Public Health Training they create the Public Health Learning Network (PHLN). 

Infographic displaying 2017-2018 PHLN network information

The Public Health Learning Navigator

 

The Learning Navigator is a streamlined and selective online tool to connect public health professionals with engaging and interactive learning experiences. 

Access the Learning Navigator 

Navigator Infographic

Coordinating Center

The RVPHTC is located at the University of Michigan School of Public Health and serves as the central coordinating office for the region which includes Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

Regional Collaborative

The RVPHTC works to strengthen the capacity of the region’s public health workforce by assessing training needs, responding to those needs through the development and delivery of distance-based continuing education, and engaging students from across the region in public health practice. This work is done in partnership with Community-Based Training Partners and Technical Assistance Providers.

Region V PHTC Network

Central Coordinating Office

The Region V Public Health Training Center’s central coordinating office is housed at the University of Michigan School of Public Health.

Group picture of all staff

Region V Public Health Training Center Team

 

Angela Beck Photo
Angela J. Beck, PhD, MPH
Director
ajbeck@umich.edu

 

 

Phoebe Goldberg
Phoebe Goldberg, MPH, CHES
Program Manager
734-936-1483
gophoebe@umich.edu

 

 

Laura Power Faculty Headshot

 

Laura Power, MD, MPH
Clinical Assistant Professor
lejohns@umich.edu

 

Taylor Flynn Headshot

 

Taylor Flynn, MPH
Project Coordinator
734-936-1569
taflynn@umich.edu

 

Seth Neeley Headshot

 

Seth Neeley, MEd
Instructional Designer
neeleysc@umich.edu

 

Kristin Zolynsky Staff Picture

 

Kristin Zolynsky
Marketing Coordinator
zolynsky@umich.edu

Community-Based Training Partner

 

University of Illinois at Chicago

Devangna Kapadia, MS, MPH
Assistant Director
MidAmerica Center for Public Health Practice
guddi@uic.edu

Community-Based Training Partner

Indiana University Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health

Carole Kacius, PhD
Associate Dean for Education
kacius@iu.edu

Sedric M. Warren, MPH
Program Coordinator
Center for Public Health Practice
sedmwarr@iu.edu

Community-Based Training Partners

 

Kent County Health Department

Teresa Branson, MHA
Deputy Administrative Health Officer
teresa.branson@kentcountymi.gov

 

Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe of Michigan

Patrick Shannon, JD, MPH
Chief Judge, Tribal Court
pshannon@sagchip.org

 

Saginaw County Department of Public Health

Christina Harrington, MPH
Director, Health Officer
charrington@saginawcounty.com

Community-Based Training Partner

 

Minnesota Department of Health

Chelsie Huntley, BSN, MPA
Director
Center for Public Health Practice
chelsie.huntley@state.mn.us

Beth Gyllstrom, PhD, MPH
Senior Research Scientist
Beth.gyllstrom@state.mn.us

Community-Based Training Partner

 

Columbus Public Health

Melissa Sever, MPH, MCHES
Director
Office of Planning & Quality Improvement
mkserver@columbus.gov

Jen Morel, MPH, CHES
Program Manager
Office of Planning & Quality Improvement
jemorel@columbus.gov

 

The Ohio State University College of Public Health

Andy Wapner, DO, MPH, FACOP, FAAP
Director
Center for Public Health Practice
Wapner.1@osu.edu

Kelly Bragg, MPH, CHES
Program Manager
Center for Public Health Practice
bragg.99@osu.edu

Community-Based Training Partner

University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute

Paula Tran Inzeo, MPH
Director
Mobilizing Action Toward Community Health (MATCH) Group
ptran@wisc.edu

Sweta Shrestha, MPH
Program Manager
Wisconsin Population Health Service Fellowship, MATCH Group
sshrestha@wisc.edu

JP Leider Research and Consulting

JP, Leider, PhD
Evaluation Director
Region V Public Health Training Center
leider@gmail.com

 

National Council for Behavioral Health

Chuck Ingoglia, MSW
Senior Vice President, Public Policy and Practice Improvement
chucki@thenationalcouncil.org

Shelina Foderingham, MPH, MSW
Assistant Vice President, Practice Improvement
shelinaf@thenationalcouncil.org

Taslim van Hattum, LCSW, MPH
Director, Practice Improvement
taslimvh@thenationalcouncil.org

Flannery Peterson, MPH, PMP
Senior Manager, Practice Improvement
flanneryp@thenationalcouncil.org

 

National Network of Public Health Institutes

Jennifer McKeever, MSW, MPH
Director, Public Health Practice and Training
jmckeever@nnphi.org

Laura Prechter, MS
Program Manager
lprechter@nnphi.org